West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023 Results

West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023 Results :”TMC goons are making desperate attempts to steal the elections by obstructing the counting agents and candidates of the BJP and other opposition political parties from entering counting centres. They are being restricted from going towards the venue, and bombs are being hurled to intimidate counting agents,” leader of the Opposition in West Bengal Assembly Suvendu Adhikari said.
Counting of votes for the three-tier panchayat polls to nearly 74,000 seats, which besides the gram panchayat seats also includes 9,730 panchayat samiti seats and 928 zilla parishad seats, began at 8 am on Tuesday amid tight security. There are around 339 counting venues spread across 22 districts. The maximum number of counting centres is in South 24 Parganas at 28, while the minimum is in Kalimpong at four.

“Rejected by people and sensing humiliating defeat, this is BJP’s last attempt to come up with lame excuses to make up for its own organisational failures,” he added.
The counting for the West Bengal panchayat election 2023 is likely to continue for the next two days as it will take time for the ballots to be counted and the results to be compiled.

As initial trends started pouring in, a war of words broke out between the TMC and the BJP, with the latter accusing the ruling party of ‘making last desperate attempts to loot votes by blocking opposition agents from entering counting centres’.

The Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Tuesday secured victory in over 12,500 gram panchayat seats in West Bengal and was leading in another 3,620 seats, while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 2,781 seats and was ahead in 915 seats out of the 63,229 gram panchayat seats across the state. According to the latest data released by the West Bengal Election Commission, the CPI(M) has won 910 seats and is currently leading in 550 gram panchayat seats, followed by its ally Congress, which has so far won 625 seats and is leading in 276 seats. Other parties which included the newly formed ISF won 219 seats and led in 70 seats, while independents which included TMC rebels won 718 seats and led in 216 seats.

Refuting the allegations, TMC spokesperson Kunal Ghosh said, “Sensing defeat, they are making baseless allegations.”
In Darjeeling hills, out of the 598 seats in Darjeeling and 281 in Kalimpong, the BGPM was leading in 21, whereas the BJP was ahead in one, and the independents were leading in four.

Leave a Reply